Awards Recognize Regional Alternative Fuel Leadership

OKLAHOMA CITY, May 22, 2019 – The Association of Central Oklahoma Governments (ACOG) Zach D. Taylor, Jr. Clean Cities Vision Awards honor Central Oklahoma Clean Cities Coalition stakeholders accomplishments in promoting and deploying alternative fuels and advanced vehicle technologies.

This year’s award winners are Preferred Service CNG and EMBARK.

Preferred Service CNG is a family-owned Central Oklahoma business specializing in compressed natural gas (CNG) station design, installation, maintenance, and repair services.

“Preferred Service CNG provides a safe, convenient fueling experience for natural gas vehicle fleets and drivers, and the company invests time and resources to growing the alternative fuel market,” said Eric Pollard, Central Oklahoma Clean Cities Coordinator. “They are an incredibly hard-working team, providing a high-level of service all over Oklahoma.”

Similarly, EMBARK is being recognized for investments in alternative fuel fleet growth. They recently began construction on a new CNG station for a growing CNG bus fleet which now has 19 CNG buses with plans to have over 50 by 2025. They have also deployed hybrid buses and will soon be adding one of the state’s first all-electric transit buses.

“ACOG applauds the Central Oklahoma Transportation & Parking Authority (COTPA) Board and EMBARK staff for a Clean Cities vision to improve regional air quality through a number of programs including their fleet operations,” said Mark W. Sweeney, ACOG Executive Director. “EMBARK is making tremendous investments that will improve the quality of life for Central Oklahomans.”

In addition to the deployment awards, ACOG will be honoring Senator Stephanie Bice and Representative Terry O’Donnell for their authorship of House Bill 2095, which extended and modified Oklahoma’s alternative fuel tax incentives. The bill was signed into law by the Governor earlier this month.

A Lifetime Clean Cities Advocate Award will be presented to Dorma McDonald of Oklahoma Natural Gas in recognition of her success in partnering with the natural gas vehicle industry to build the most robust CNG fueling network in the country. There are over 100 public fueling stations in Oklahoma (the most stations per capita in the country) with at least one station for every one-hundred miles of interstate.

This year’s award luncheon marks the 23rd Anniversary of the Central Oklahoma Clean Cities Coalition.

The Association of Central Oklahoma Governments (ACOG) in partnership with the Oklahoma Department of Commerce and the U.S. Department of Energy, established the Coalition in 1996. The Coalition’s primary goal is to advance the use of alternative fuels and fuel savings technology in vehicle fleets across the state.

Stephanie Bice receives the Legislative Advocate Award at the 16th Annual Awards Luncheon. Also pictured (from left): Mark W. Sweeney, AICP (ACOG Executive Director), Scott Minton (OnCue), Norman Herrera (Sparq), and Eric Pollard (ACOG Clean Cities Program Manager)


Staff Contacts

Eric Pollard
Clean Cities Manager

Angela Hankins
Special Programs Officer 

(405) 234-2264

Translate »

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This