The Honorable
Charles McCall is
Oklahoma’s new
Speaker of the House.

The Honorable
Elise Hall, R-Bethany,
will serve as Vice
Caucus Chair.

The Honorable
Katie Henke,
R-Tulsa, will serve
as Caucus Secretary

Charles McCall Named Speaker-elect

OKLAHOMA CITY – One week after voters gave Republicans an historic 75-26 seat majority in the Oklahoma House of Representatives, the House Republican Caucus today elected its leadership for the 56th Legislature and re-affirmed state Rep. Charles A. McCall as their choice for House Speaker-elect.

Speaker-elect McCall was elected by the caucus in May as House Speaker-designate. Today’s election gave the 25 new Republican House members an opportunity to vote on leadership.

“I am truly grateful for the support of my colleagues,” said McCall, R-Atoka, who ran unopposed for the position. “There are several challenges facing us in 2017 that voters have entrusted us to overcome. We are going to develop good, conservative solutions to those problems, and we are going to promote a pro-economic growth, pro-family agenda with the goal of making our state more competitive and all Oklahomans more prosperous. Voters sent House Republicans a clear message last Tuesday: They believe in the policies we have put in place during the last 12 years as the majority and they want us to continue those efforts.”

The Republican caucus also elected several top leadership positions today.

Speaker Pro Tempore

In addition to electing McCall, the caucus chose state Rep. Harold Wright as Speaker Pro Tempore-elect.

“I’m humbled that my colleagues trust me to do this job, and I am looking forward to working with Speaker-elect McCall and the members of the caucus,” said Wright, R-Weatherford. “I feel like 2017 is going to be a great year for the citizens of Oklahoma, despite the budgetary and policy challenges ahead. We have great leadership, and I am ready to get to work for the people of Oklahoma.”
State Rep. David Brumbaugh was chosen as Caucus Chairman for a second term.

“It has been a privilege to serve the caucus as chairman during the past two years, and I am honored to continue serving,” said Brumbaugh, R-Broken Arrow. “I always look at this position as a way to serve the members, much like I serve my own constituents. This job is vitally important if we are going to build coalitions that get the people’s work done.”

Hall, Henke Also Elected To Leadership

Vice Caucus Chairwoman, state Rep. Elise Hall, R-Bethany, who ran unopposed and was elected for a second term.
Caucus Secretary, state Rep. Katie Henke, R-Tulsa, who ran unopposed and was elected for a second term.

During the next several weeks Speaker-elect McCall will announce additional appointed leadership positions, as well as committee structure and committee appointments.

On January 3, the full House will convene for an Organizational Day to certify newly elected members and formally elect House leadership.

Translate »

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This