In a ceremony held on Oklahoma’s 109th birthday, 24 new and returning members of the Oklahoma State Senate were sworn into office at the Capitol Wednesday. Lt. Gov. Todd Lamb, President of the Senate, presided over the ceremony. The oath was administered by the Honorable John Reif, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

The 13 new members taking the oath of office were

Micheal Bergstrom, R-Adair
Dewayne Pemberton, R-Muskogee
James Leewright, R-Bristow
Greg McCortney, R-Ada
Roland Pederson, R-Burlington
Tom Dugger, R-Stillwater
Joe Newhouse, R-Broken Arrow
Lonnie Paxton, R-Tuttle (Central Oklahoma)
Julie Daniels, R-Bartlesville
Chris Kidd, R-Addington
Dave Rader, R-Tulsa
Adam Pugh, R-Edmond (Central Oklahoma)
Paul Scott, R-Duncan

Returning members sworn in Wednesday included Wayne Shaw, R-Grove; Larry Boggs, R-Wilburton; Kevin Matthews, D-Tulsa; Rob Standridge, R-Norman; Ron Sharp, R-Shawnee; Bryce Marlatt, R-Woodward; Nathan Dahm, R-Broken Arrow; Gary Stanislawski, R-Tulsa; Dan Newberry, R-Tulsa; Kyle Loveless, R-Oklahoma City; and Greg Treat, R-Oklahoma City. Sen. Joseph Silk, R-Broken Bow, will be sworn in on Monday.

Returning members were able to file legislation for the 2017 session beginning November 15, while new members can begin filing bills on November 23. The deadline for requesting bills is December 9. Those measures must be filed by January 19.

The full Senate will officially convene for an organizational day on Tuesday, January 3, 2017, and the First Session of the 56th Legislature reconvenes on Monday, February 6.

The Senate website has streaming video from all committee rooms and the chamber. Legislation, the Senate Journal, biographical information on members, high resolution photos, committee and floor agendas, votes and press releases can also be accessed at

Translate »

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This