Sparq Natural Gas and the City of Moore, Oklahoma, are the recipients of 2017 Clean Cities Vision Awards


15th Annual Clean Cities Vision Awards

The awards are named for ACOG’s late executive director Zach D. Taylor, Jr.

The Association of Central Oklahoma Governments (ACOG) Zach D. Taylor, Jr. Clean Cities Vision Awards honor Central Oklahoma Clean Cities Coalition stakeholders accomplishments in promoting and deploying alternative fuels and advanced vehicle technologies.

This year’s award winners are Sparq Natural Gas and the City of Moore, Oklahoma.

Sparq Natural Gas was founded in September 2013 by three entrepreneurial alumni of Chesapeake Energy Corporation’s industry-leading Market Development group. Sparq Natural Gas provides an array of services to support fleet managers, fuel retailers and entrepreneurs seeking to benefit from the advantages of compressed natural gas.

“Sparq provides a very high level of service within the industry, and not just to fleets that utilize their services,” said Eric Pollard, Central Oklahoma Clean Cities Coordinator. “They combine diligence and passion into a driving force for CNG fueling options in Oklahoma and in other states.”

The City of Moore recently opened their new private CNG station for refuse truck fleet fueling and now has eight CNG refuse trucks with room for seven more at the new fueling facilities. The City recently implemented an idle reduction policy for city vehicles.

“Moore residents can take great pride in the efforts of their city leaders and staff in expansion of their alternative fuel fleet,” said John Sharp, Deputy Director. “The City sees the economic and efficiency benefits — the region gets cleaner air.”

In addition to the deployment awards, ACOG will be honoring Representative Leslie Osborn for her commitment to policy that has made Oklahoma a national leader in alternative fuel station and vehicle safety.

This year’s award luncheon marks the 22nd Anniversary of the Central Oklahoma Clean Cities Coalition.

The Association of Central Oklahoma Governments in partnership with the Oklahoma Department of Commerce, the Oklahoma State Energy Office and the U.S. Department of Energy, established the coalition in 1996. The coalition’s primary goal is to advance the use of alternative fuels and fuel savings technology in vehicle fleets across the state.

Pictures are available for download on Facebook.

Translate »

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This